Quick question

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by BiH, May 2, 2016.

1. BiH

BiH Light Load Member

Apr 15, 2016
    I just got my CDL but I've been driving with my uncle with a CLP since April 2015, and I'm gonna be driving with him for another 3-4 months so I can get more driving experience before I set out on my own...if I wanted to go to another company in 4 months would that count as experience even though it's not on paper or experience is something that needs to be on paper??

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. w.h.o

w.h.o Road Train Member

Jan 10, 2011
    Chicago, il
    Companies want verify experience. So driving with your uncle probably isn't verify unless he has an company and pay you on a w2

BiH Thanks this.
  4. BiH

BiH Light Load Member

Apr 15, 2016
    He has a company but I don't think he's gonna put me on payroll just yet

5. Eddiec

Eddiec Road Train Member

Feb 2, 2015
    Companies vary on the amount of experience you need to have, with that being said, start the research process now, so you will have a clear idea on what is required. Make sure that you keep all your logs and manifests, to support your application.

BiH Thanks this.
  6. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Do some paper logs to cover the time you drove for him. Make copies to submit with job applications if requested. Without documentation, some companies may want a refresher, but that's easy to get.
    Some small companies will just give a road test which you won't have any problem passing.

Last edited: May 2, 2016
    BiH Thanks this.
  7. Dave_in_AZ

Dave_in_AZ Road Train Member

May 4, 2015
    They want verifiable experience. Usually with a 53' trailer. No one counts my mixer experience for years, even though everywhere I went was 72K pounds.