rebuild gone wrong??

Discussion in 'Freightliner Forum' started by dyall, Apr 3, 2015.

1. dyall

dyall Bobtail Member

Apr 3, 2015
    Okay, im new here not much of a diesel mech. However Ive been an OO for about 7+ years and still own same truck. 2005 freightlenercentury with detroit 14ltr 60series. Last June I had major problem coolant in the oil pan. Long story short I spent close to 22,000 for engine rebuild. Rocker arms cylinder 6pack etc.... just kept block and egr cooler. New sleeves and #5 cylinder counter boared. Just got truck backend of January and on March 31 just north of knoxville on 75 the head gasket blew. Im running less than 10,000 lbs 67mph. I dont run truck hard because im not a mechanic and dont have a money tree. I stay pro active on replacing parts oil changes ect.... ive only been stuck on the shoulder twice since june of 2008 last year when I broke down and march 31 of this year. I really need some help here. Dealership 1st described problem being blown head gasket. Pointed out where you could literally see the gasket in the back corner sticking out. Service manager claims he's never seen anything b4 like and it could have been poor workmanship. Then on friday Im told the block, cylinder head are both destoyed due to high RPM recorded. 3221 is what I was told they pulled from the computer.3seconds b4 that recording it had me clocked doing 83mph on 3/31/15 10:50am. Now the kicker is I hadnt left the shipper with my 9500lb ld in conover nc yet. Left about 11am drove almost 1hr 40mls to Loves TS in marion nc and stayed about an hr. The help I need is I spent 22,000 for a rebuild and recieved 1yr on parts and labor. The corporate office is stating that warrenty may probably be void due to High RPM 3221. Problem is I never ran truck 83mph and certainly didnt redline rpm. Ive never run past 18rpm which is very seldom and I usally run on cruise control around 67mph. I need help from anyone who is mechaniclly experienced. Only a fool would intenti