Recent graduate - 45 days to pick a company?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Diana.Prince, Nov 23, 2015.

1. Diana.Prince

Diana.Prince Bobtail Member

Nov 20, 2015
    I graduated a few weeks ago and have my CDL in hand. I've been applying to a few companies and haven't decided on one yet, but have it narrowed down to a few. I spoke to a recruiter last week that mentioned something I hadn't heard before and was curious if more experienced drivers can chime in. He started to pressure me to make a quick decision after I mentioned I wanted to take a week off before training, and told me I only had 45 days after graduation to pick a company to do my "finishing training" otherwise I might have to do a refresher course at most companies. I don't see myself taking that much time off but hadn't heard that from anyone yet. I get that they don't want you to lose what you've learned, but is this usually determined by company or pretty much standard throughout the industry. Thanks ahead of time, this is my first post here, I've been stalking for a while :).

DustyRoad and Chinatown Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Each company has it's own policy. For some it's 30 days or 60 days or 90 days. Some don't care even if it's been a few months or a year.

Where is your location and which companies are you considering? Maybe some drivers that have "been there, done that" will give some good advice.

DustyRoad Thanks this.
  4. DustyRoad

DustyRoad Road Train Member

Feb 23, 2011
    Gulf of Mexico