Sammons trucking L/P. The good, the bad, and the fine print.

Discussion in 'Lease Purchase Trucking Forum' started by Kritter11B3, Feb 24, 2016.

1. Kritter11B3

Kritter11B3 Bobtail Member

Apr 24, 2011
    Ok, so here it is my current experience with Sammons and their lease purchase program. I am a driver. I don't see many post about them so thought I'd drop my 2 cents. First of all I'll break down the pay because that is usually the first question that comes up. Now sammons boast a 26% take home reguardless, while this is true the fine print here is 26%of what's left. You are paid last sammons is paid second after fuel surcharge. So I'll use my numbers from last week to give you the breakbdown. I book my own freight so I get 28% of what's left. All my loads were booked as all in flat rates.

$5375.00 line haul
    $ 481.93 FSC (fine print alert) sammons takes the national average FSC and multiplies that against your loaded miles then subtracts it from your linehaul. So it's linehaul - FSC here. They do not give it to you they create it for you.
    So to figure pay here it is:
    5375.00-481.93= 4893.07 total LH
    4893.07x.75= 3669.80 "your cut"
    3669.80x.28= 1027.54 "your pay before taxes"
    You pay sammons $1223.267
    You take home $1027.54
    Your truck gets $2642.26 (payments, taxes, fuel, ect. Ect.)
    Miles ran 3468÷1027.267= .296 cpm to me
    3468÷1223.267= .352 cpm to sammons
    So as far as pay goes, last week was not so bad. But my 28% pay was lower than Sammons 25%. But this is what happens when you are paid last. I will say that next to the truck getting 72%, I pay sammons more weekly than I spend in fuel. Not too mention you pay maintenance on their trailers through "rent". I have no option to buy a trailer unless through an outside source, don't really like it. If I'm forced to pay I would at least like to have a choice in what I pull.. Not a fan of voluntold.