Schneider percentage lease vs cpm lease

Discussion in 'Lease Purchase Trucking Forum' started by Jeremy102077, Aug 2, 2015.

1. Jeremy102077

Jeremy102077 Light Load Member

Jan 7, 2010
    Las Vegas, NV
    I've been driving for 7 years, and have been thinking about and gathering as much information as possible, towards my first lease. For a very sizable amount of that time, I've been looking at Schneider's percentage lease, because quite simply, I like the idea of being able to pick my own loads, and not having to put up with a dispatcher. That of course, would not be the sole factor, lending towards my thinking of liking Schneider's percentage lease. But if all other factors equal, to serve as a tiebreaker between a cpm lease and a percentage lease...I'll take the option that doesn't come with a dispatcher.
    I've asked around with lots of owner operators. I know not necessarily everybody here will agree, but this isn't the part I'm asking about. The general consensus I've gathered, is that in a cpm lease, I'd wanna be making at least $1.50/mile, in order to turn a profit. And that in a percentage lease, I'd wanna be making at least about 65% of the freight bills. Like I said, I know not everybody will agree, but again, not the part I'm asking about.
    What I would like to know is this. I have no idea what the average freight bill is, or what say 65% would equate to on a cpm scale. So say if on a 1,500 mile run at $1.50/mile, that would pay $2,250 before expense deductions...what would 65% of the freight bill come out to? Or does it depend on other factors, like simply what I'm hauling, and how much the customer is paying (the freight bill) for that particular load?
    If there's any other ways anybody else could break it down to me...how to convert and compare X cpm to X%, then that would be great too. Thanks in advance.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Ok big boy