SE Tax owed on Workers Compensation Insurance Premium ?

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by ml48603, Sep 27, 2016.

1. ml48603

ml48603 Bobtail Member

Jun 22, 2012
    Michigan
    I am a first time 1099 driver. I do not own a truck. I will be driving for a motorcarrier. I want to buy my own workers compensation insurance policy, as the company does not offer one and I am required by the motorcarrier to purchase my own. I have formed an LLC for myself so that a workers compensation insurer will be required to pay any claims. ( Workers comp insurers do not have to pay on claims filed by sole proprietors ...I only discovered that today )

My question is in regard to Federal SE taxes (15.3%) : My workers comp insurance premium will be $250 per month. Am I allowed to NOT to pay 15.3% of the $250 I am paying on my workers comp insurance premium ?

Schedule C Line 15 does not allow an LLC of 1 person (me) to report my workers comp insurance premiums on this line, rather report it on form 1040 line 29. Reporting premiums paid on line 29 of 1040 reduces the filer's AGI by the full amount of the premiums paid. Since deduction of the Workers Comp Premium is not allowed on Schedule C, Schedule SE tax is paid on the final line on Schedule C. I am guessing that the SE tax must be paid on the $250 monthly premium.

Does anyone know for sure?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Scooter Jones

Scooter Jones Road Train Member

Apr 19, 2011
    You're mixing apples and oranges.

Bean Jr. Thanks this.
  4. strollinruss

strollinruss Road Train Member

Jun 5, 2012
    Montgomery, TX
    Hire a good cpa and don't ask those kind of questions here. Oh, you'll get an answer, but you know......

5. Bean Jr.

Bean Jr. Road Train Member

Mar 30, 2014