Specialized Transportation Services (STS) Out of Smyrna TN

Discussion in 'Discuss Your Favorite Trucking Company Here' started by NomadMack, Sep 25, 2016.

1. NomadMack

NomadMack Bobtail Member

Sep 25, 2016
    I have been Driving for about 4 years now,working on trucks for about 7 years on and off. I Was OTR for a long time and decided to spend more time at home. I left the Local trucking Company I worked for and decided to do some Tree work to get that "Time at home" feel while making money. The Tree company turned out to be #### there slave labor and Just because I had a CDL with Experience didn't mean I wouldn't be running a chipper 8 hours a day . Anyway put myself Back on the Market for a new Driving Job. Never Having worked for a Super Mega Carrier I decided to apply at all of them and See what I got back. I had many call me back and I was hearing numbers of .33cpm, 35cpm 38cmp ect ect. Why would you work for 33cpm? A friend of mine worked for Celadon so i decided to ask him how they treated their drivers. He told me he left Celadon for a company called STS and if I enjoyed Sitting waiting for a load to go ahead and go to Celadon. Again another Big company with a Big tune that was just a big fiddle if you know what I mean. He told me to apply with STS and They were good, nice trucks blah blah blah. I didn't listen to him. I kept applying to other carriers, some I liked but didnt like the pay some I liked the pay but not the home time. I finally threw in the towel and Applied at STS. I didnt hear anything from them for a few days and forgot all about it. When they did call I expected them to be like everyone else asking the same questions every other companies asked but they didn't. They were real people answering every real question I had to ask. I remember the Recruiter from Celadon Saying "we will find out during Orientation" When I asked a real tough question like . How much will i get paid if my truck breaks down? why is the driver turn out rate so hig