Success or failure

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by dream$, Dec 8, 2016.

1. dream$

dream$ Light Load Member

Dec 8, 2016
    I may be in the wrong thread if so please point me in the right direction. I am tossing around the idea of buying a truck and leasing to a company and hiring a driver for that truck. I am a heavy duty truck technician and am looking to do my own maintenance while continuing to work my weekly job. I need as much information as I can get I am just doing my research and anything is appreciated thank you.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. AModelCat

AModelCat Road Train Member

Jul 7, 2015
    Canuckistan
    I can't say its a good or bad idea. I know a guy who owns 2 trucks and he has drivers for both. He just works a regular day job and fixes the trucks on the weekend. No idea how well he does but he's been operating like this for about 5 years now.

Lepton1 and swaggerjacker Thank this.
  4. ExOTR

ExOTR Windshield Chipper Extraordinaire

Jan 23, 2013
    Fort Worth, Tx
    Do you work for a large enough vendor to substantially save on parts?
    Do you already have potential drivers lined up?

5. dream$

dream$ Light Load Member

Dec 8, 2016
    I do actually work for a company that would save a substantial amount on parts and are providing me with up to date and new and old knowledge every day. I dont have any drivers in mind yet I would like to get alot of information before I search. I do have at least one(keeping my possible options open) for well seasoned experienced drivers that could verify the abilities of a driver I would hire on

6. Final Drive

Final Drive Road Train Member

Jan 21, 2015
    Let me tell you finding a good driver for your Truck is not going to be easy and bills don't stop just cause your truck ain't rolling..

Lepton1, noluck and Pete jockey Thank this.
  7. dream$

dream$ Light Load Member

Dec 8, 2016