Team driving

Discussion in 'Prime' started by SavvyRed, Jul 30, 2016.

1. SavvyRed

SavvyRed Light Load Member

Apr 22, 2016
    So, I'll just state it again, I'm a rookie lease op. I'm doing fine financially, so please just stop with the evil leasing posts.
    My buddy is coming on the truck. She got her A right away because she's coming from another company. She is coming onto my truck to learn about leasing crap.
    Several questions:
    1- with the increase in company wages, I'm understanding she will make 46 cents in a light weight. +2 cents for every mile over 2100. Correct?
    2- I'm planning on paying her 18 cents a mile. That only equates to 1080 prior to taxes, but I've heard that it is the max they allow you to pay. Is this true?
    3- is there a way for us to split this lease? Basically, we end up liking teaming and I add her to my llc. I don't want all the liability, and she'll want her fair share of earnings.
    4- company teaming. Each driver is paid for each mile, correct? So, 5000 miles (3000 times 41), with the 10 cents over 3000 (2000 times 51), would be 2310 prior to taxes for each driver. Why does this seem unreal? Would we really be paid that much?
    Thanks for the help :D She hasnt been on the road in a few months and is coming on to get comfortable with the road again. I want to provide her with as much company and lease info as possible. Thanks.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. baha

baha Road Train Member

Jul 25, 2013
    ga
    Some co. split all $ even to each team member, its your truck so you can pay whatever it states on the lease, are you W-2 or 1099 your team driver?

SavvyRed Thanks this.
  4. Chucktshoes

Chucktshoes Medium Load Member

May 23, 2014
    Memphis, TN
    I can't help with the first two questions, but I can wth 3 and 4.