throttle position sensor prompting stop engine light

Discussion in 'Peterbilt Forum' started by Agtrucker, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Agtrucker

    Agtrucker Light Load Member

    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    01 379. Changed the sensor on the throttle pedal due to a dead spot in the 20-30% range. Truck ran fine for a few months then it started not coming down to an idle all the time (would stop at around high idle setting) and wouldn't let the engine brake engage when the pedal was released. Made shifting interesting a couple times.
    Installed a new one again and everything seems to work fine. Except if you press the throttle pedal all the way the STOP ENGINE light comes on and it cuts power til you let off a little then it goes away. Ideas?
     
  2. GrapeApe

    GrapeApe Road Train Member

    Messages:
    1,347
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    What engine? Are there any flash codes?
     
  3. Agtrucker

    Agtrucker Light Load Member

    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    n14. Have not hooked up to a scanner to check codes
     
  4. GrapeApe

    GrapeApe Road Train Member

    Messages:
    1,347
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    You should be able to get flash codes from the cruise switches or it may have a diagnostic button, I forget. There is a way to get the flash codes though. You should get 3 digit codes. Let me know what the code(s) are and I'll look them up.
     
  5. Agtrucker

    Agtrucker Light Load Member

    Messages:
    60
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    it does have a diagnostic on/off toggle switch...
    Will try to remember and check this tomorrow, is the proper way to check for codes?
    Thanks

    1. Turn ignition on and let ECM go through pre-check.

    2. Turn on cruise control.

    3. Push SET/RESUME switch to either position and hold. The yellow diagnostic light will begin to flash - you can release the Set/Resume switch after it begins flashing.

    4. Count the flashes. The diagnostic code is a two digit code. There will be one set of flashes for the first digit, a short pause, then another set for the second. If there is more than one active fault code there will be another sequence of flashes, etc.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted