Tipping at the Truck Wash

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by TampaTony, May 6, 2016.

1. TampaTony

TampaTony Medium Load Member

Dec 13, 2015
    How many of you leave a tip to the person or persons that wash your truck? If you do how much? I would like to tip but it's hard to spare the money sometimes, after I am a truck driver.

CargoWahgo and scottied67 Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Hyweighman

Hyweighman Medium Load Member

Dec 29, 2011
    Pensacola, FL
    For me if it's a blue becon no. If it a smaller truck wash and it's 2 guys doing it I probably will. Last time it took them 90mins.trk/trailer.I gave each 10 bucks.

Lepton1 Thanks this.
  4. scottied67

scottied67 Road Train Member

Mar 14, 2010
    california norte
    Not knowing this little etiquette thing is why I never get my truck washed. Early on I did and tipped the guy $20 bucks and told him to buy his crew some beer because it was Friday. then the last time I had my bobtail washed on hometime I gave the guy $5 bucks and he seemed shocked like that never happens. So then I feel like a fool and gave away my money for nothing.

5. tucker

tucker Road Train Member

Jun 13, 2008
    IN
    I never tip at the Blue Beacon.

On Wednesday I grabbed my load at M&M Carthage in Louisville, in the little guard shack the guard pointed out his donation jar for ALS, I ignored him. The second time he mentioned it, I told him it says his wife died of it in 2009 and I gave him my "screw you " laugh.

I only tip bartenders and barbers, and never ever for food to go

CaptainDaveG Thanks this.
  6. STexan

STexan Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2011
    Longview, TX
    We only use blue beacon account and never see any use in tipping there.