What are your greatest fears?

Discussion in 'Questions To Truckers From The General Public' started by DigginDog52, Apr 26, 2016.

1. DigginDog52

DigginDog52 Bobtail Member

Apr 22, 2016
    Portland, Oregon
    Hi all... I'm new to your forum and I joined because I wanted to better understand truckers and their concerns or fears as it relates to your work. I have my CDL and for a time worked as a bus operator for Tri-Met, a large Portland Oregon based transit agency. I was responsible for moving passengers safely from point to point throughout the city, primarily during morning and afternoon rush hours. When I began my work, I still remember thinking how easily it would be to lose my job over some unfortunate traffic incident that may not have even been my fault. It really bothered me. I also learned that as a professional driver, I would always be considered guilty until proven innocent. And finally, I gained a tremendous amount of respect for the difficult work truckers do. Really, I thought the job would be easy, until I actually got in the drivers seat. What a ride!

So my question is: "what are some of your greatest fears as you go about your work on the road, and how do you personally deal with those fears?:

Thanks in advance for your responses!

Steve M.

moloko, vanishing point and xlsdraw Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. stayinback

stayinback Road Train Member

Jan 24, 2014
    chicago,il
    I developed a strange fear over time(Been driving 25 years) But I wanna say in 2007-ish....I developed a fear of bridges in a truck (not car though)...

I'm talking about the Long-High ones built for the Big Boys to go under..

Examples- Chesapeake bay bridge- Delaware Memorial- Throgs Neck- Sunshine Skyway- Or that real skinny high one in Baltimore on I-695..