What is the avg starter dump truck salary?

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by zoekatya, Dec 18, 2015.

1. zoekatya

zoekatya Medium Load Member

Mar 15, 2013
    Baltimore, MD
    I have two years of 18 wheeler experience and am thinking of driving a normal dump truck so i can be home every night. What should I request as a starting wage reasonably?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. EverywhereMan

EverywhereMan Medium Load Member

May 28, 2013
    The North
    It would depend on your area relative to the cost of living. Three years ago I was driving for $20/hr and that still seems to be the norm for an hourly wage driving dumps around the GTA. But I've read all the way as low as $14/hr in areas in the US .

Last edited: Dec 18, 2015
  4. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado
    I'd be happy making $15/hr in Wisconsin, however, be advised, except for a few instances, like asphalt, most dump truck jobs pay %, and it usually works out better for the owner than the driver.

5. CasanovaCruiser

CasanovaCruiser Road Train Member

Jun 2, 2015
    Indiana
    $700-$900/week seems normal around me

Depends on location

Some dump companies can skirt by HOS regs and run the clothes off your back. Working like that for a few months might make you glad you get a 10 hour break.

Winter time will be slower for most dumps also. Something to ask about when considering companies. Some will entirely shut down for the season.

zoekatya Thanks this.
  6. Jokingypsy

Jokingypsy Medium Load Member

Jan 4, 2013
    Baltimore, MD
    14-18 bucks an hour in Baltimore. If crofton isn't too far check out Patuxent Materials (PMI). Reliable contracting and Payne trucking are always looking also.

zoekatya Thanks this.
  7. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado