What qualifies as a 'preventable' on your DAC?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by bmovers, Jul 27, 2016.

1. bmovers

bmovers Bobtail Member

Jun 14, 2014
    Phoenixville, PA
    Hi all,
    I am a company driver with nearly 2 years otr experience.

I just recently learned that I have 2 preventables on my DAC. I was under the impression that because they were extremely minor they wouldn't be on my DAC, but I was wrong.

Here's what they are and maybe you all can give your opinion as to weather they deserve to be on my dac or not.

#1:
    Fall of 2014. I had just finished training and had only been in my own truck for 1-2 weeks. I needed to make a left turn from 1 narrow road to another. I could see lots of truck tire tracks in the dirt just off the right side of the road, and I could tell that trucks make the turn by taking it very wide and going off the road a little. So i followed the tracks to safely make my turn without hitting the pole to my left. What I did not take into account is that it had been pouring rain for 2 days straight and the dirt tire tracks I was following were very muddy. I got stuck and had to call a wrecker. I was so new and my training was so poor that I did not know to lock the differentials to try to get out.
    The bill was $200.

#2:
    August 2015. Pulling out of a very tight dock area with a sleeper truck on either side of me. I first went slightly left as I was pulling forward to make sure that I could make the tight right turn. My trailer grazed the tractor to my left and I mean it just barely touched it. Only damage was scraped paint. Total damage was $100 or less.
    A fellow company driver of mine joked that I should have just slipped the other driver $100 so that he could get it fixed himself and keep the change, so it wouldn't have to be reported.