Trucking Jobs New Driver Jobs Flatbed Jobs Tanker Jobs Refrigerated Jobs Auto Hauler Jobs
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Trucker?
    11 Years
    Age
    46
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked: 13 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Jas View Post
    On Aus Kenworths the coolant level sensor has four wires going from the sensor to the oem Harness on the engine ecm (the rear most plug) but yours may be different.
    I don't think mine is a 4 wire but can you tell me where they join the engine harness on yours?


  2. #12
    Road Train Member 550hpW900L's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 2008
    Location
    norcal
    Trucker?
    WannaBe
    Posts
    1,872
    Thanks
    370
    Thanked: 1,089 Times
    Mine is supposed to have one too but it doesent, yes the harnesses are the same but the wires that would be going to the sensor are most likely in the harness capped off.

  3. #13
    Medium Load Member Jas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Eastern Sea board, Australia
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Age
    35
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked: 142 Times
    It joins the OEM harness on the top of the engine near the front tappet cover. If it doesn't have one you should be able to get a dealer to wire one up for you, its not hard, four wires, fit the sensor and the enable the parameter in the ecm.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Jas For This Useful Post:


  5. #14
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Trucker?
    11 Years
    Age
    46
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked: 13 Times
    Quote Originally Posted by Jas View Post
    It joins the OEM harness on the top of the engine near the front tappet cover. If it doesn't have one you should be able to get a dealer to wire one up for you, its not hard, four wires, fit the sensor and the enable the parameter in the ecm.

    Thank you...I'll take a closer look at that harness in the morning. It's obvious that someone has been in there, just not sure what they did.

    The parameter is already enabled but it's not detecting the missing sensor so somehow the computer is getting back whatever signal tells it that the water level is ok.

  6. #15
    Medium Load Member Jas's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Eastern Sea board, Australia
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Age
    35
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked: 142 Times
    It sounds like someone has bridged out the wiring so the ecm thinks the levels ok. Maybe look for a wire loop on the harness that doesn't belong.

  7. #16
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Trucker?
    11 Years
    Age
    46
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked: 13 Times

    Thanks again for the help, Jas.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jas View Post
    It sounds like someone has bridged out the wiring so the ecm thinks the levels ok. Maybe look for a wire loop on the harness that doesn't belong.

    Found it a few inches back into the harness. The connector was cut and the wires twisted together. It seems to me like that would throw a code but it didn't.

    Thanks again for the help, Jas.

  8. #17
    Medium Load Member WallyGator's Avatar
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Clearwater,Florida
    Trucker?
    18 Years
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked: 75 Times
    i have a 3406e and my sensor goes out at least 2 times a year.my fix was a paper clip just like the guy at cat told me to do.

  9. #18
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Chico, CA
    Trucker?
    11 Years
    Age
    46
    Posts
    47
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked: 13 Times
    I'm not sure why your sensor keeps going out. I had one in 2 of my other trucks and never had a problem with either of them. I like the idea of having one because you can't always tell when you start to lose coolant. always seems to happen out in the middle of nowhere.

    With the last truck, it went off just as I was coming up to Willcox AZ. I was able to stop and get a hose before it overheated. I replaced a hose and was back on the road in less than an hour. It's better than sitting on the side of the road miles from nowhere.

    With this truck, it wasn't so obvious. It ran a little hotter than normal but never overheated. I had no idea I'd lost coolant until I shut down for the night and the apu wouldn't stay running for more than a minute or so. By then I was almost 5 gallons down.

    I put a new sensor in here Sunday and it starts beeping at me Sunday night. My original problem was a radiator cap getting weak. I replaced it and then sprung a leak on the apu. Again, I wouldn't have known about that without the low coolant sensor had I been driving any further than I did.

  10. #19
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Jun 2008
    Location
    NW IL
    Trucker?
    10 Years
    Posts
    161
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked: 26 Times
    All of our Mack trucks have coolant sensors, and one of the T800 w/ a C12. But, the '03 T8 w/ ISX and my '04 W900L w/C15 doesn't have a coolant sensor.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •