Trucking Jobs New Driver Jobs Flatbed Jobs Tanker Jobs Refrigerated Jobs Auto Hauler Jobs
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Layton, UT
    Trucker?
    0-1 Year
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked: 0 Times

    ProStar idling questions

    Grabbed myself a 2010 ProStar with the MaxxForce 13 but I have some issues. The Espar cut out on this trip and can't seem to find a load back to the shop to get it fixed.



    Does anyone know how to force the truck to maintain a 900RPM Idle like the freightliners? I tried the cruise on hit the accel button but nothing happens.

    Also how can I override the Idle Shutdown Timer? I have been getting annoyed with sleeping for a couple hours and then waking up cold and having to re-idle it manually holding the RPM up until it is warm, waiting until the cab is warm and getting another hour or two before repeating this process.

  2. #2
    Road Train Member Heavyd's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2009
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Age
    39
    Posts
    3,455
    Thanks
    562
    Thanked: 1,296 Times
    No override. Thank the EPA and CARB.

  3. #3
    Road Train Member
    Member Since
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Gardners,PA
    Trucker?
    35 Years
    Age
    58
    Posts
    3,125
    Thanks
    1,054
    Thanked: 2,349 Times
    Can't help you with your Prostar question, but last night, here in Illinois with temps below zero, my Espar quit too. 1st time in the 3 years I've had it, and it has run in the teens below zero and wind in Wyoming. I guess it was just fuel related, after getting above zero today it has worked fine.
    Can you sit with the trailer brake on, and the tractor released to get it to idle? I'd chock the wheels too, just in case.

  4. #4
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Layton, UT
    Trucker?
    0-1 Year
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked: 0 Times
    that didn't work last time i tried it. i'm in indiana too which has me in the same boat.

  5. #5
    Road Train Member Les2's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 2008
    Location
    kicked back in my lazyboy...
    Trucker?
    WannaBe
    Posts
    5,154
    Thanks
    1,772
    Thanked: 2,244 Times
    I've heard that leaving the headlights on will keep the truck from shutting down? this was on an older truck, maybe 05-07.

  6. #6
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Location
    ontario
    Trucker?
    6 Years
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked: 0 Times
    In my 09 prostar (isx), before I had the idle timer removed on the ecm I would hang my work boots on the clutch pedal. It was just enough weight to trigger the switch.. This will let your truck run but with no high idle, but hey you won't freeze to death

  7. #7
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Layton, UT
    Trucker?
    0-1 Year
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked: 0 Times
    have the poor man's cruise rod, will try it, hope it works and thanks so much!

  8. #8
    Bobtail Member
    Member Since
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Layton, UT
    Trucker?
    0-1 Year
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked: 0 Times
    well just tried it at 3 different levels of pressure, didn't work

  9. #9
    Road Train Member Heavyd's Avatar
    Member Since
    Feb 2009
    Trucker?
    Trucking Industry
    Age
    39
    Posts
    3,455
    Thanks
    562
    Thanked: 1,296 Times
    With the Maxxforce you can get the ISD disabled by reprogramming it. This isn't something the dealer can do directly. What will happen is International has the ECM program file on their data base. They would make the software change at their end, then the dealer would have to download that new program from the database and then program your truck. We have had to do this for several customers who run PTO's and need the engine to stay running. That's the trick. You need to go to your friendly neighborhood International dealer and tell them you need ISD disabled because you need to run a PTO. It will take a couple of days, because they have to go though Internationals support program called "IKnow" and email in the request.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Heavyd For This Useful Post:


  11. #10
    Light Load Member
    Member Since
    Apr 2008
    Trucker?
    No Answer
    Posts
    88
    Thanks
    52
    Thanked: 32 Times
    I have 09 & 10 Prostars with the ISX motors. When I bought them I had the dealer turn on the high idle and shut off the auto idle shutdown. There are a bunch of settings in the ECM that can be changed if you take it to International.

    My espar on my Volvo will quit at time when its below 0 out, the feed line is so small that at those temps the fuel doesn't flow as well.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •