Company logo

A&S Kinard: A Day & Ross Company reviews

1.8
(11)
$720 - $1,346/week

Summary

Overall

Home Time

Equipment and Maintenance

Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

$720 $1,051 $1,346
weekly average

Share Your Experience

Rate and review A&S Kinard: A Day & Ross Company

Share the salary you were paid at A&S Kinard: A Day & Ross Company

$

Ratings and Reviews

Current Employee - Aug 1, 2022

The company does not have their driver's backs. Gave me a truck that was in a incident prior to me getting it.no inspection of the truck was done after. I Had a malfunction with the fifth wheel of the truck and was fired. They just handed me a faulty fifth wheel and when it malfunctioned it was my fault. Had the broken pieces of the locking mechanism and pictures to prove it. Was told I high hooked it. Even after I did three inspections of the trailer (no gap between the plates) and tug test then drove 4 hours down the road. Joke of a place. Management sucks they will schedule you for over lapping drop offs an pick ups. The ladies in the office are amazing and are the Only reason that Branch is still on it's feet.Do not apply. You would be looking for a new job right away

Pros

None

Cons

All of them

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Oct 14, 2021

Everythi.ng to do with day & ross is poor. They have NO CLUE what they are doing in the auto parts delivery industry. They fired me for refusing to throw hazardous materials into the trash dumpster. They did not pay me what they owed me in pay and reimbursables. I had no choice but to report them to the EPA, DOT, FMCSA, and Department of Labor and Industry.

Pros

None! They are like a dog chasing it's tail.

Cons

There are too many to list!

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - May 7, 2021

Worked there 4 years ago for 13 months. Pay was lousy, dispatch was worse. Was going on vacation starting on a Saturday in November 2017. Friday was supposed to drop truck in york,pa yard for PM. Thursday dispatch begged me to take a "hot" load to Boston. I took it and got back 7am Saturday. Had only 1 hour left of drive time so i had no time to get to york,pa qith it. I dropped trailer at Big Lots in tremont,pa. I was parking tractor at home so i went home , parked it and went on vaction. The SOB's called me everyday of my vacation telling me I had to bring truck in for oil change. What kind of low life does that???? Well , they do. I was about 20 minutes from getting home from my well disturbed vacation and dispatch texted me yet again about the oil change. I quit via text 1 minute later. Told them they had 2 hours to remove their truck from my driveway or I was having it towed at their expense. It disappeared from driveway shortly after that.

Pros

None

Cons

Many

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Current Employee - Jan 24, 2021

Regional driver drive 3-4 yr old basic stock volvos, just started to get crappy internationals JUNK. Watch your money and miles. I've been here 4 months and have been screwed out of at least 1880 dollars. Driver mgr NEVER drove b4 to me they have know understanding of the road. Nice guy but blows smoke up my ###. Home times suck 34 rest recruiters will tell u whatever u want to hear for there bonus. Only got thru the house 1x in 4 months. We did get a 12 cent raise 62 per mile now with less miles. Haul exclusively drygoods no unloading 99 no touch and drop and hook.

Pros

Pro driver mgr ok guy.

Cons

Short in pay,,driver managers 90% never drove and have no clue of life on the road. Im looking for another job as we speak.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Former Employee - Oct 1, 2020

It is a new day at A&S Kinard and not for the better. Ever since Day Ross has taken over there have been big changes. Most of the old A&S office staff are gone. The DM s that didn't lie to the drivers are gone. Equipment is not being repaired. Trucks past pm services. Trailers not being repaired or repaired poorly and sent right back out the door. The newer trailers were rebadged as Day Ross trailers and sent away and only the oldest and roughest trailers remain at A&S. No more safety bonus for the drivers. Driver facing camera now being added to trucks. Drivers are sitting waiting on loads as customers are being given to Day Ross. Etc.

Pros

Easy for a fresh cdl driver to get hired as many older drivers are leaving.

Cons

Too many to list. A company that once prided itself as being a company that cared for its drivers is now not any better than the other Mega carriers. It was better when it was owned by Celadon. Hard to believe. They should drop the Kinard from the name as respect to the founder. He actually cared for his employees, both in the office and out on the road.

Home Time
Equipment and Maintenance
Dispatchers and Managers

Salary Surveys

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in New Hope, MN on Oct 14, 2021

$1,000 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in York, PA on May 7, 2021

$1,100 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in York, PA on Jan 24, 2021

$975 per week

Current Employee

Yes

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in York, PA on Oct 1, 2020

$1,346 per week

Current Employee

No

Company Driver - 5+ Years CDL Experience

Surveyed in on May 25, 2019

$1,250 per week

Current Employee

No

Discussions

Good good company a&s kinard

Operate this

Oct 11, 2015

Good good company a&s kinard

A&S kinard!!! out of York pa.home every weekend and through York pa at least 2times during the week.they treat there drivers pretty good!! And the pay scale isn't bad either

Good good company a&s kinard

Voyager1968

Oct 18, 2015

Good good company a&s kinard

As far as I knew (and I did drive for A&S Kinard), they operated as a wholly owned subsidiary of the Celedon Group, so yes, Celedon and A&S were technically sister companies. As for interaction with Celedon though, I had gotten a couple of tire repairs done at the Celedon terminal in Carlisle. Other than that, the companies were pretty much independent, and we were not allowed to pull Celedon trailers, at least on our fleet.

They are a good company, and I'd still be there if the dispatcher on the (day cab) fleet I was on didn't try to run us out of hours almost daily. We'd finish off a 7 hour first pull, and then get dispatched on a 6 hour second pull. Under perfect conditions, perfectly legal and doable, but as anyone knows, traffic and construction in the northeast can be and is heavy and unpredictable, and that 6 hour second pull could easily turn into an 8 to 9 hour run. It got to be too stressful trying to beat the clock at the end of the day.

Good good company a&s kinard

Mazda744

Mar 2, 2016

Good good company a&s kinard
Glad to help. They have a good 401k plan and they just made it so employees may sign up for it from day one instead of waiting 60 or 90 days, which is nice for new folks. Orientation down in York was a piece of cake. It was only two and a half days of mostly sitting in a room watching videos, talking, & taking tests. Nothing out of the ordinary or stupid. As far as my start/end times they vary. I choose to run overnights because I like less traffic and I'm a night owl. I start anywhere from 5-7pm and I'm almost always done by 6am, sometimes sooner and once in a while a bit later. I rarely bump up against my 14 but if I have enough hours left to do something short, I'll ask and see what the office may have. More hours, more money ya know. I know guys that start around 2am, some around 5-6am and so on. It's really up to you. You tell them what you want to work and they'll make it happen. There is enough work so they can usually fit in the schedule that you want and, at least in Carlisle, they always try. I can't speak for York. Although I deal with the night dispatchers in York as there is no one in Carlisle at night but I've never had any bad experiences with them to date. Hope this is helpful.