2 incidents, 1 more I'm fired...leave now??

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Durus Malleus, Jul 28, 2021.

1. Durus Malleus

Durus Malleus Bobtail Member

Jul 28, 2021
    So, I'm a newbie. 6 months driving. I glanced the back of my beat up container off a beat up container at the railroad...but its "an incident...an accident etc" A few days later I then bumped a kiosk, that one drives along side of while leaving and moved it slightly, and reported it to the inventory gate guard on duty who said there was nothing to see, no damage, and don't even bother to report it... but I had already informed my company. This was accident #2 and I had to have a sit down with 3 managers who told me that I'm welcome to stay...they are "behind me all the way" and they "believe in me" etc., but the statistics are such that probably a 3rd incident will occur within the 1st 90 days if 2 already happened...and if any more tiny slight bumps with no damage happen within 1 year (the 2 I had happen there had no damage and I'm 2 weeks on the job at this company) I no longer qualify to work there by their own company standards (fair enough).

This isn't about me taking responsibility. I know I sucked and can't bump stuff and expect to work anywhere. I got it. I will be better and I am already on my way up in this world. This is a learning experience and stepping stone. I'm learning and a work in progress. This question below is only about protecting my livelihood so I can pay rent and eat. From what I've read already, I need to retain power over my job and be proactive and find another company...but I'd like to make an informed decision. This is a great company but I need to put me number one and being honest with them over these 2 minor occurrences did not matter in the slightest to the company. They just need 3 before firing me since I'm not a jerk ;)

Should I find another (or even a better) job and quit while my history still reads I was not terminated?