2006 FL Columbia Detroit 60 14L Codes with Derate

Discussion in 'Freightliner Forum' started by PhonemanDriver, Jun 13, 2019.

1. PhonemanDriver

PhonemanDriver Bobtail Member

Jun 13, 2019
    Hello. I have a 2006 Freightliner Columbia with a Detroit Series 60 14L engine. I'm getting a code of SYS 146 SID 001 FAIL 03. Originally this came with a second code of ECU 128 PID 411 FAIL 04 and a Flash Code of 82.

A little background... I'm new to trucking but I really enjoy it so I bought the truck. I bought a ScanGauge which plugs in and let's me look at various engine info, like MPG, Horsepower, Water Temp, etc. When I look at the Horsepower, it makes out at around 360, far short of the 515 it should have. Originally I assumed that was some computer setting so I took it to the shop and looked and found it was set to 325/515 and had it changed to 515. It was also set for progressive shift and I had that removed. I got better performance but no Horsepower increase. A little math tells me I'm derated to 70%.

At this point I noticed that the Check Engine light never came on, even at startup. I removed the cluster and found the bulb was removed and when I added one the light came on.

I have been searching online and as far as I can tell it is something to do with exhaust temp, EGR temp, or the Delta Pressure Sensor. I read something that made me think it was the Delta Pressure Sensor so I put a new one on. The ECU and Flash Code went away when I replaced the Delta Pressure Sensor, as did the Check Engine light. But the Check Engine light comes back on as soon as it starts pulling a load, or the engine brake kicks in downhill. If I'm coasting or stopped, it goes out.

Also, I have had many wiring issues for lights, bunk fan, etc due to former splices that are corroded and have fixed all I found by soldering and heat shrinking so they are fixed for good, so it might be some sensor wiring harness issue.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    D