2018 Rookie Pay question

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by sam3106, Apr 22, 2018.

1. sam3106

sam3106 Light Load Member

Apr 22, 2018
    Hello Everyone,
    This is my very first post! My question has been asked before but from passed years.I am a veteran and currently paying for my CDL with my gi bill(it means I'm getting it for free) and plan on being an A class driver OTR. My questions are
    1.Since I'm getting my CDL in a school before joining a company does this give me any advantage on getting a better pay vs someone who gain there cdl through a company ?If so is it a huge difference?
    2.I plan on being out for 5-8 weeks if possible at a time so what is a realistic amount of pay I should expect per week After Taxes and all other expenses beside food(I know how to be cheap with food;))?
    3.Do I use a gas card or can I use my credit card and receive free points?
    4.I'm a night owl so would I make more driving at night, as in getting more miles since people are usually off the road?
    Thank you for your help.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. I glide 47

I glide 47 Road Train Member

Jun 3, 2017
    Starting pay depends on experience company furnished fuel card but loyalty points from truck stop chain are yours night driving doesn't pay any more but less traffic is true

4. Zeviander

Zeviander Road Train Member

Jan 23, 2015
    Winnipeg, MB, CA
    1. The only advantage is that you aren't locked into a contract (also known as indentured slavery for some megas) that requires you pay for your training if you decide to break the contract and leave early (which you likely will want to do after being treated like garbage).