30 minute break required after 6 hours of work

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by NoobieDOT, Dec 7, 2017.

  1. NoobieDOT

    NoobieDOT Bobtail Member

    4
    0
    Dec 7, 2017
    0
    hello, I recently got DOT certified and I am still in the dark about a lot of things. My main question is regarding the 30 minute break required if I will be working anything past 6 hours. I am a part-time employee. I was “written up” for working 2 minutes past 6 hours. Do I have to sign their letter or just acknowladge it? And I haven’t seen anywhere online about the 6 hour 30 minute break rule.
     
  2. x1Heavy

    x1Heavy Road Train Member

    12,511
    11,968
    Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    0
    A moment with Google reveals the following.

    It is required to take a 30 minute break after 8 hours before you resume driving. This is a rather basic material with pictures to help you comprehend this rule.

    https://keeptruckin.com/blog/30-minute-break-rule/

    And here is one paragraph stating how the 30 minute break took effect in 2013 and explains the law itself in the FMCSA itself which is the keeper of all regulations and rules affecting trucking.

    Updated HOS 30-Minute Break Enforcement Policy for Short-Haul Drivers

    Your employer wants you to take a 30 minute break or you will and was written up. I don't see why you have a problem with taking a break. You would think that People would love to have a 30 minute break to lie around doing nothing or whatever in this fast paced work world. /snark... in my time we did not have such a rule, we ran straight through until it's time to take a 10 hour sleeper break and no resets back then either. Work was straight forward and much more simpler then.

    Sign it and move on. make sure you get a 30 minute break in 8 hours and enjoy it. Drop a coin in a video game or something, blow it off and get going.
     
  3. NoobieDOT

    NoobieDOT Bobtail Member

    4
    0
    Dec 7, 2017
    0
    Being part-time, I usually clock out at 6 hours, however, clocking out exactly at 6 hours and not a minute more is where I am getting myself into trouble. Thanks for your reply.
     
  4. magoo68

    magoo68 Road Train Member

    1,532
    1,185
    Jun 11, 2011
    st malo mb canada
    0
    Maybe it's to meet labour laws rather than DOT rules and they just word it as a DOT rule to cover their tracks
     
    gentleroger Thanks this.
  5. x1Heavy

    x1Heavy Road Train Member

    12,511
    11,968
    Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    0
    You are welcome, I did not consider that employers want to take the actions they are taking.

    If you are part time, I would imagine there are many other things for you to get into because clocking out at 5:30 and going home because your 6 hour work day is effectively over... would be better. You can probably use the extra 30 minutes in your home life.
     
  6. NoobieDOT

    NoobieDOT Bobtail Member

    4
    0
    Dec 7, 2017
    0
    Good point, that may be the case. Thanks for your reply.
     
  7. NavigatorWife

    NavigatorWife Road Train Member

    2,567
    1,307
    Apr 30, 2012
    Cental West, AL
    0
    Some states do require a lunchbreak when you work 6hrs. Sears when they started staying open on Sunday in MS, many moons ago, had to get some change done in order for employees to not have to have the 30min break after 5hrs. This most likely where you are getting in trouble at do to state law, you need to have a break somewhere, and most likely not at the tailend of the time period. Need to get with HR and find out what they expect, or want time frame you need to be on, it wouldn't look good to get fired over this if you keep violating what they perceive as their rules.
     
    magoo68 and x1Heavy Thank this.
  8. Justrucking2

    Justrucking2 Medium Load Member

    668
    679
    Sep 12, 2017
    0
    Two minutes and you get written up? Shaking head...

    Sounds like it is the policy of your employer. Cut an hour off your day and park the truck early. The wizards of smart here call it trip planning. You don't want to be labeled a cowboy and or a cheater. Or, just put the pedal to the metal and up your pace, let her rip. Oh, and be safe out there. ;-)
     
  9. Jumbo

    Jumbo Road Train Member

    3,670
    7,278
    Sep 4, 2009
    Appleton, Wisconsin
    0
    Don't just "Sign it and move on". That is horrible advice. Ask your supervisor to show you their WRITTEN policy about working past 6 hours. Don't be a jerk about it but make them show you. Sometimes company "policy" is no more than hearsay. Are you by chance not in America?
     
    Jazz1, 06driver and NoobieDOT Thank this.
  10. MACK E-6

    MACK E-6 Moderator Staff Member

    21,561
    39,940
    Sep 19, 2005
    Baltimore, MD
    0
    6 hours?

    Like others have said, that must just be your employer’s rule, because the official regulation is you can’t drive after your 8th hour without having parked for 30 mins.
     
    x1Heavy and NoobieDOT Thank this.
  • Draft saved Draft deleted