6Pin, 9Pin, Green plugs etc

Discussion in 'Trucking Electronics, Gadgets and Software Forum' started by Baltimike, Mar 27, 2017.

1. Baltimike

Baltimike Bobtail Member

Mar 27, 2017
    Looking for some assistance, as I am fairly new to this. I currently sell hardware to support ELD mandates. Since my customers have varied fleets, I am having problems knowing which connection the truck has. I know the majority of the trucks will take a 9Pin connection, but there have been some that take a 6Pin...and vice versa. Seems like 2005-2007 is the transition years from 6 to 9pin.
    Is there an easy way to know what connection a truck has? I really can't ask a customer to send me a pic of the connection in every truck in his fleet, especially a fleet of hundreds of trucks. Appreciate any guidance.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. wichris

wichris Road Train Member

Jan 17, 2011
    A lot of different ones. Some change every few years. Want to sell something, go to the manufacturers and get it.

4. Baltimike

Baltimike Bobtail Member

Mar 27, 2017
    Thanks. Local dealer was less than helpful.

5. Ridgeline

Ridgeline Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    It is really simple.

Most of the early ones are 6 pin, this would be like 1999 and earlier. The reason for this is that they used a different protocol for the ecm - I think it was J1756.

After that they were 9 pin, they shifted to the J1939 protocol.

Most of the time if there is a J1939 protocol, then it is 9 pin. The exception may be transmission ecms where there is a 6 pin.

My diag equipment has all the connectors with it, I haven't used the 6 pin except for my little RV/truck setup.

They make adapters to go from 6 to 9 or 9 to 6.