A day cab or sleeper and the successful o/o mistakes

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by wheres da $$$, Jul 21, 2018.

1. wheres da $$$

wheres da $$$ Bobtail Member

Dec 8, 2016
    Good afternoon everybody I appreciate your time for reading and applying to this ad now I've been driving company for 5 years now thinking about the owner operator side I'm doing my research and taking it slowly I'm asking for successful owner operators that had the mistakes and what did they do about it to make it successful also I'm wondering about just doing local in Pennsylvania with the daycab as I see it there's plenty from Harrisburg Connecticut Massachusetts Etc

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. buddyd157

buddyd157 Road Train Member

May 25, 2017
    under a shade tree
    you would still need to get some rest/sleep. it can be a bit difficult in a day cab to meet the DOT rules on that time. i ran from MA to VA weekly, in a day cab, but the company i worked for, paid for a motel. you on the other hand, will have to pay that out of pocket.i am not sure you will be able to do round trips and be at home before your 11 hours driving will be up. given that going into CT can be tricky with traffic, and it only takes ONE road accident, and you are at a dead stop for hours there.

might be better off in the long run to at least get a small sleeper?

4. Doing_flatbed_nc

Doing_flatbed_nc Medium Load Member

Mar 3, 2016
    I bought a daycab because I don't like sleeping in a truck. It has worked out well. Even for short trips, I always have a hotel in mind because traffic happens.

I run I-95 / I-85 MD to FL and and I-40 through Tennessee and the only time I've been in a jam was last week. I ran NC to MD and back. Coming back I was stuck in DC for two hours and then in Richmond for an hour.