Advice for a potential tank hauler.

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by Rooster1291979, Nov 23, 2017.

1. Rooster1291979

Rooster1291979 Road Train Member

Sep 4, 2012
    NOLA
    I am considering moving over to the tank side but, I have no idea what exactly I want to do. I literally don't know enough about tank to know what I want.

I do not have hazmat or tank endorsements. I can get them, it's not a problem.

I have been trucking OTR for almost 6 years. I have worked for 3 companies. I have been pulling flatbed for most of my career. Lots of oversize, nuclear and wind blades. I am used to and enjoy a challenge. Looking to get home more often and start a new chapter. Mostly because I'm bored.

My CSA is 0. PSP has clean inspections with no violations. My MVR may have 1 overweight ticket, haven't pulled it. No criminal charges. I have a passport and a twic card.

I live very near New Orleans and would like to find a gig that will get me through the house.

I tend to take extended hometime. A month on the road and 7-10 days at home. I don't think a company position will work. I have leased trucks for all but 6 months of my career and have been financially successful. I am willing to lease but, can buy a ride if needed.

Tell me what you think. Will I have to ride with a trainer if I do this? What about salary? Putting my daughter through private college without student loans so I need to make a good salary or I can't make the move.
    Thanks.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    I had been driving around 20 years when I switched to tankers. I rode with a trainer for about 3 weeks because it's not about the driving part, it's about safety of dealing with hazmat chemicals of various types and different customer situations. I was a company driver.