Advice for Truck Sales Position

Discussion in 'Questions To Truckers From The General Public' started by PistolPete, May 13, 2010.

1. PistolPete

PistolPete Bobtail Member

May 13, 2010
    I'm new to the trucking industry and to this forum, and I could use a little advice from those of you who have been around for awhile. I have the opportunity to take a position selling Peterbilt's and a few other brands of medium duty trucks for a large dealer based in the middle of the country. It sounds as though the position could be very lucrative, but I'm a little skeptical with the current state of the economy. Is there anyone out there buying new Class 8 trucks? They claim that it's slow, but people are still buying. They also claim that they really haven't seen much of a decline in the sales of their medium duty lines. Does this sound about right? Have any of you sold trucks in the past?

I have a master's degree and all my past experience is in the aviation industry. I really want to get into sales and this is the only real offer I've had for a sales job yet (or any job for that matter-even with all my education, a great GPA, and steady work history). The only trucking experience I have is driving a 3000 gallon jet fuel truck when I used to work as an aircraft refueler. (This company requires that you get a CDL which (1) sounds like a good idea if I'll be selling trucks and (2) sounds kinda interesting.) Does it sound like I will be able to "fit in" with the industry and be successful?

Any help or advice is really appreciated!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Kittyfoot

Kittyfoot Crusty Ancient

Sep 21, 2009
    Sorrento, Louisiana
    SIGH...... Just great, another salesman who knows jack all about what he's selling or who he's selling to.:biggrin_25513: Oh well, at least you're asking questions.