Advice on Dispatch

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by monetrob13, Apr 22, 2020.

1. monetrob13

monetrob13 Bobtail Member

Apr 22, 2020
    Hello all,

Im new to the trucking industry and have always wanted to be a freight dispatcher so I am contemplating starting up a business but I need more input from truckers etc.

I have done tons of research on how to acquire good paying loads, prioritization, studying all the policies and laws, etc I’ve even seen some of the horror stories that you all go through dealing with some brokers and I want to be able to bring something to the table that sets me apart.

Bottom line is, I need advice and more direction. I love my truckers, you guys go through a lot and I come from a trucking family! I’m doing this as a passion and to build relationships but also to help y’all out there that can use a dispatcher who isn’t trying to eat up all you make off a load and leave you with nothing!

So share as much info as you can much is appreciated!!

Be blessed.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. FoolsErrand

FoolsErrand Road Train Member

Sep 15, 2017
    I applaud your reasons but its the toughest time to do such a thing as an independant.

Dispatchers arent brokers. You dont have MC authority so you dont have freight to offer anyone. That means youre offering a clerical task of sifting freight on loadboards for others who are too busy. Like a bookkeeper sorts receipts as a task for business guy thats too busy or not good at it.

Well right now there is hardly any freight to sift, what there is that has any profit lasts only minutes. You wont have time to call and say 'do you want it' before its gone. Any freight that isnt instantly gone is at such a low rate that the truck cant even profit, nevermind pay you to sift it. And youll be making payments to load boards to find this freight.