Another seeker of the "Truth"

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by spindrift, Dec 15, 2017.

1. spindrift

spindrift Road Train Member

Dec 2, 2014
    Texas
    Good afternoon, folks.

Bear with me as I know you've heard the story a 100X before. I've been in the corporate world for quite some time, and now my corporation has no more time for me so I'll be looking for work come January.
    I grew up working on a dairy farm and even delivered hay using our old International Eagle cabover. Back in the day, I was a mechanic for Cummins so I think I have an appreciation for things that rely on grease and oil to make it through the day. I'll be 60 in a few months and I'm in good physical shape ( mental?...meh). I've got a beautiful home and an even more beautiful wife. I have absolutely no desire to go OTR or even Regional as these routes won't bring me home at the end of the day.

I've been thinking of going in a couple of directions. One would be to take my 2012 Ford F350 dually and get a 25 ton gooseneck trailer and haul RVs one way and bring back hot shot loads. I have absolutely no relationship with a broker so I'm not sure this is the way to go. Plus, a good gooseneck won't be cheap and I'll have the cost of financing that piece of equipment. On the other hand, it gets me out on my own.

Option 2 would be looking for a local intermodal gig. Option 3 would be grocery hauler. I'd look forward to the physical work as I need to get my blood pressure back under control. ;)

BTW, I don't have a CDL so I'd need to evaluate what the better course of action might be; go to a school or get the CDL through a carrier.

I'd really appreciate hearing the pros and cons of the ideas I've thrown out, or new ideas that y'all might have. I'm located in Louisville, KY.

Oldironfan Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. BrandonCDLdriver