Any info on Purdy Brothers in Loudon, TN?

Discussion in 'Motor Carrier Questions - The Inside Scoop' started by JGoose, Aug 24, 2017.

1. JGoose

JGoose Bobtail Member

Aug 22, 2017
    Tennessee
    Anybody have some basic info on Purdy Brothers in Loudon, TN? Average miles/week, hometime, equipment?

I have over 10 years experience but I've been out of the truck for 4 years now. It's been hard to find a company that will give me an opportunity without having to go through some sort of "trucking 101" training while riding with a trainer for an extended period for minimal pay. Purdy Bros is offering me a position but before I sign up, I'd like to hear from a driver...not just a recruiter! Anybody???

Need4Speed Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. WCA64T

WCA64T Bobtail Member

Feb 13, 2014
    Purdy was a really good family run reefer company, but in late 2014, P&S Transportation purchased Purdy Brothers and sister operation Loudon County Trucking. How Purdy is now will depend a lot on the new management.

Purdy stopped running the West Coast/Northwest after Maremount closed it's Loudon facility around 2007 or so. It had been auto parts out and produce back east. Under P&S, Purdy might be running all 48 again.

Used to be 225 Freightliners, first Centurys and then Columbias, traded every 3 years. Around 80 owner operators (not lease operators!) supplemented the fleet. All Great Danes with Thermo King reefers, traded around 7 years.

Late 2000s, after trying a few Volvos and Internationals, trade cycles on the Columbias started getting longer, and engines were being rebuilt in house. New Coronado gliders began coming into the fleet.

First new Cascadia Evolotions started arriving in 2014. These were delivered in Purdy's traditional blue color and were in the 42-xxx series.