Anybody taken a "CDL Refresher Course" to re-learn how to drive a manual?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by BeHereNow97, Oct 16, 2020.

1. BeHereNow97

BeHereNow97 Heavy Load Member

Sep 15, 2020
    Hey guys, I'm an OTR driver coming up on 2 years experience driving reefer and dry van, all with the same company and all with automatic transmissions. Haven't driven a manual since CDL school when I got my Class A License.

The company I'm with has been real good to me, but I'm thinking it may soon be time to make my next move and advance my career.

I got my CDL Class A License by testing out in a manual, so I don't have a restriction on my license. That said, I was never very good at driving a manual and that was 2 years ago when I was getting practice with it every day for about an hour and a half a day (I have never driven a manual stick shift in a car either).

I was thinking about trying to apply for an LTL company like Old Dominion or Estes running linehaul if I would be so fortunate as to get a job with them. I know I would need to be ready to drive a manual at a moments notice and possibly in mountain terrain too.

I was looking into CDL "refresher courses" around my area. It looks like there's one 3 hours from home, for only 4 days Monday - Friday at a cost of $700 including tuition + misc fees/taxes. Would include pre trip stuff, backing and road driving. I would be going mainly for the road driving in a manual and get all the driving time in that I could get.

Anybody use one of these refresher courses? Did you feel you got your money's worth? Or would it be better off to rent a truck and hire someone for a day or two to ride with me who knows how to drive a manual in a semi-truck? Maybe it would make me more employable to a company if they saw I took initiative to brush up on my driving skills before applying to them?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds