Are There Any Trucking Schools That Aren't a Joke?!

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by insipidtoast, Feb 9, 2023.

1. insipidtoast

insipidtoast Heavy Load Member

Nov 22, 2016
    Planet Earth
    When I think about my truck driver training program that I graduated from in 2017, I remember that it was run almost like a "good ol' boys" club. The instructors would tell you gruffly, "grab a gear (insert student's last name)!" instead of acting like a civil human being and calmly instructing someone as to how to "grab" the proverbial "gear." They also freely chastised students and teased people. Yeah yeah. So what? Big deal, right? Suck it up, buttercup. Maybe they were just trying to get us ready to deal with all the cranky A-holes out there at the truck stops, shippers, consignees, etc.

What I did have a major problem with was the following:
    The course was advertised as a 160 hour training. It was a course run under the umbrella of the local community college, and was highly regarded. Turns out that that 160 hours was total B.S. The days out on the range were primarily standing outside in the cold in the parking lot waiting for my turn. On an eight-hour day I wouldn't even receive two hours of wheel time.

Fast forward to the present day, and I'm looking for some options for my wife to get her cdl. I've been reading google reviews of various truck driver training schools in California (where I'm originally from) and Tennessee (where I'm currently domiciled), and I keep coming across the same comments saying the same thing, that 75 percent or more of the course is spent waiting your turn. How useless. Why do companies demand that you go to a 160-hour or 200-hour school when most (maybe all?) of those places are just padded with wait times and fluff vs. actual wheel time.

Can't a reputable trucking company accept a grad that went through a program that was only say 50 hours if those 50 hours were utilized efficiently?