Attempting to get my CDL got a Question... (California)

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by PumpkinKing, Oct 26, 2020.

1. PumpkinKing

PumpkinKing Bobtail Member

Oct 26, 2020
    I'm attempting to get my CDL through an Academy in the State of California.

I am currently a Resident of TN and hold a TN drivers License. I will only be here for as long as it takes me to pass the academy and DMV test. (I was out here working the fires).

Do I have to surrender my TN DL and become a resident of California to take the CA DMV test for my Class A?

I had someone tell me that in Utah they didn't have to surrender their home state DL or become a resident of Utah. They were given an official paper stating they passed their Utah class A DMV test. They had a limited amount of time to go back home and submit it to obtain their home state Class A. Since it's a federally regulated test, this makes sense. Just not sure if it applies to California.

Last edited: Oct 26, 2020
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Ask the school what the rules are in California.
    When I changed my cdl from Tennessee to Nevada, just had to take a new eye exam and show proof of living in Nevada.
    `
    Some drivers on this forum used Escapees RV Club to get a legal address in another state.
    ~
    Some cdl schools give you proof of graduation along with a temporary cdl license and you take that temp. license to your home state and swap it out at the DMV for that states cdl.

COBB2070 Thanks this.
  4. brian991219

brian991219 Road Train Member

Aug 10, 2013
    Lords Valley, PA
    It depends. Since 2015 the FMCSA has allowed the skills and road tests to be taken in other states than your home state but the learner permit (knowledge) test must be administered in your home state.