Become a new O/O or a New Freight Broker?

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by SteveScott, Jun 11, 2018.

1. SteveScott

SteveScott Road Train Member

Nov 10, 2015
    For the last couple months I have been preparing to become a new O/O after driving OTR for a few years. My company is set up, plenty of money in place, everything is moving ahead slowly but surely. I have a niche market and clients waiting for me to get my truck and I'll be in business. But I keep having this nagging feeling in the back of my head. What if I get injured or sick? I'm 58, and while I'm not over the hill yet, my body is getting old. What if I blow a knee out and can't work? Yes I could hire a driver to run my truck while I couldn't work, but with start up costs being so high (especially insurance), would the company survive if I got hurt or sick in the first couple of years?

I keep going back to freight brokering as an alternative. I already have an office set up at home, and I can use the company and numbers from trucking as a brokerage. The likely hood of getting injured as a broker goes way down, and even if I did get injured, I could still work as a broker. I was a successful insurance broker in a dozen states for 30 years before I was a driver, so I know how to close a deal and market myself. Start-up costs and general overhead are also much lower with a brokerage, although I would need some serious capital in reserve for those first couple years until my credit score increased. I also think about the working years I have left, and how I could work much longer as a broker as opposed to being a driver.

I hate second guessing myself once I have started something, but it's all part of planning and thinking things through before you commit.

Thoughts?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. boredsocial

boredsocial Road Train Member

Apr 13, 2014
    Louisville, KY