Best CB and advice for a CB noob

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by MrsWJAA, Jul 19, 2021.

1. MrsWJAA

MrsWJAA Light Load Member

May 2, 2015
    North Carolina
    Hi,
    Getting into trucking and the advice is to get a CB for the truck when I get one. Other than calling the family in from hunting at grandma's on the holidays for dinner, I have no experience with CBs at all. I will be browsing around the forum, but in the meantime, if anyone has any tips, tricks, suggestions, and recommendations, they would all be appreciated. Thanks!
    *I have learned already that the antenna I choose is almost as important as the CB unit I get, so recommendations for those are welcomed as well*

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Timin770

Timin770 Road Train Member

May 27, 2011
    Canton, GA
    I love the Anytone AT6666. It is menu-driven but once I make my settings they almost always stay the same

MrsWJAA Thanks this.
  4. Numb

Numb Crusty Curmudgeon

Jan 30, 2012
    Charlotte, N.Carolina
    basic Cobra 29 worked great for me for over 35 yrs.

not the same one.lol.

first one lasted about 12 yrs.

Powder Joints and MrsWJAA Thank this.
  5. jdchet

jdchet Medium Load Member

Sep 3, 2012
    NE Ohio
    First piece of advice..........Keep it simple!
    Start with a regular CB radio! No high dollar exports (Stryker,Galaxy, etc).
    Cobra 29/Uniden PC78 (no peak and tune!!!!) will do you just fine and won't blow up if your antenna is less than stellar.
    Best bet as far as antenna would be to find a radio shop to set one up for you. Again keep that simple (no coily antennas). Stock antennas in today's trucks are generally terrible. Use that for a while and if you feel you want to move up to a "big" radio do some research online.
    Just be careful because this radio thing can mushroom out of control if the bug bites you!

JD

Buddy Stinson and MrsWJAA Thank this.