Biggest Problem I'm having as a new driver.

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by CP1995, Dec 14, 2017.

1. CP1995

CP1995 Bobtail Member

Sep 21, 2017
    New driver been out of training for about a month now, biggest issue im having is being scared to drive past 7PM, as a bulk driver I'm not allowed to park on on/off ramps per SNBC policy so after those hours finding a place park you can basically forget about it

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. freightwipper

freightwipper Road Train Member

Mar 24, 2014
    OTR
    Just wait till the elog mandate, truck stops will be packed by 2pm

4. ShooterK2

ShooterK2 Road Train Member

Dec 14, 2012
    Oklahoma
    What happens at 7 pm that makes you scared to drive?

5. CP1995

CP1995 Bobtail Member

Sep 21, 2017
    Nothing really just I know truck stops/rest areas fill up by then.

6. freightwipper

freightwipper Road Train Member

Mar 24, 2014
    OTR
    solar powered driver

7. CP1995

CP1995 Bobtail Member

Sep 21, 2017
    If that was the case being that its daylight savings time I would've said 4pm, unfortunately it isn't.

Steel Dragon Thanks this.
  8. Just passing by

Just passing by Road Train Member

Feb 25, 2017
    Mississippi
    My ways of dealing with the same worries:
    Try and start my day really early (3:00 am or so)
    Plan trip with various searches of truck stops along the route, giving me options of when and where to stop for 10hour reset.
    Start looking for place to stop BEFORE the eleventh hour so there's no stress

It will get easier as you go. Good luck!

9. truckguy391

truckguy391 Light Load Member

Jan 22, 2017
    Around
    You can find parking but it’s gonna be spots that are harder to get into. Don’t be afraid. Night time backing takes practice but just remember to get out and look. Better to get out and look 20 times versus put one scratch on the peterbilt 379 next to you.