Bring a friend!

Discussion in 'PTL' started by wowser, Jun 3, 2008.

1. wowser

wowser Bobtail Member

Jun 3, 2008
    Memphis, TN
    Of course I was a recent cdl graduate, and ptl welcomed me with open arms so to speak. Got into orientation just a few days after my first call to a recruiter. I started on Wednesday, got paired up with somebody and got my first dispatch the next Monday.
    As you know you're a team. And ptl expects you to drive as a team. If you're going solo after the 30k mile training period good luck with who they pair you with.
    They paired me with a guy that couldn't read an atlas, couldn't sleep while the truck was moving, couldn't back in the docks, and got lost and went down so many "No Truck" routes I lost count. He caused us 3 late appoinments which they count as service failures. The team thing comes into play here... because not only was he charged but I was also.
    I was in contact with dispatch and others over the situation. They were well aware of it, yet would not change partners with me.
    Having service failures and having the low pressure alarm wake me up going down a snowy 6% grade in Utah wasn't what I had in mind.
    After 5 weeks out, I had enough and let them know I was resigning as soon as I was brought back in Murray. I was told training would be over in 6-7 weeks. I was out for 5 weeks and just had 13k miles. Not even halfway done. And that was "team" mind you.
    Laid over at least a day each weekend due to "low freight". As far as being a company driver and going solo I think it would be a good company. Dispatch was decent enough. I just couldn't handle the guy they paired me with. :biggrin_25510:
    Pretty much wasted a month where I could be finished with "training" somewhere else. So I have to start over with another company.