Buying 04 Pete 387?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by The Greaseman, Feb 17, 2017.

1. The Greaseman

The Greaseman Bobtail Member

Feb 17, 2017
    Hi all, I am new to the forum. I've been driving on and off now for about 5 years now. I've been working in the Bakken, doing water, and gravel. I have been toying with the idea of buying my own truck for about a year now. Just the other day a friend who is leaving the business, offered to sell me an 04 Pete 387 he had been using as a car hauler. It has a Caterpillar engine and 12 speed auto shift. Million miles. Wants 9500 beans. The lower is the original, has not been re-done, the guy said it does not use oil.

The problem is that he had just had the cylinder head re-done, but the mechanic installed some sensor incorrectly and now the engine will not start until the head is pulled and the sensor I re-installed.
    Also, prior to this it was sitting in a field for something like 2-3 years. I will get the particulars very soon.

My questions are: Is an 04 Pete that is not running worth even 9500, regardless of what anyone says the problem is. And what kind of problems would you expect if it does start to run, since it has been sitting for so long?

Normally I wouldn't touch anything that doesn't run or has been sitting for a long time with a 10 foot pole, and this is both....but I thought I would as for your opinions.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ibcalm19

ibcalm19 Road Train Member

Nov 30, 2015
    Pennsylvania
    That's a while to be sitting. The question is what is worth to you. You have to figure the money you have to put into it to get it up to working. Now compare it to the price of a working 04 Pete. I do believe you would come out better with a working 04 Pete 387. I hope all goes well for you.

The Greaseman and scottlav46 Thank this.
  4. Bike rider

Bike rider Bobtail Member

Apr 11, 2016