CA resident buying truck in Mesa, AZ and bring it back to CA

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Sunny90, Dec 20, 2019.

  1. Sunny90

    Sunny90 Bobtail Member

    13
    4
    Dec 13, 2019
    0
    Hello I’m going to buy a truck from Private sales in Mesa AZ( Near Phoenix,AZ) they guy who is selling will provide me Bill of sales, Tittle. I have a question about permits and tags. do I need any tag or permit to drive it back to CA? if yes where from I get tags and permit ? I mean from CA or AZ?
     
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  3. rachi

    rachi Road Train Member

    4,247
    5,180
    Feb 25, 2010
    SoCal
    0
    What year is the truck?
     
  4. Sunny90

    Sunny90 Bobtail Member

    13
    4
    Dec 13, 2019
    0
    2017
    2017
     
  5. Bakerman

    Bakerman Road Train Member

    4,580
    8,473
    Jan 27, 2013
    Phoenix, AZ
    0
    Call Comdata, they can provide 3 day permit-but you will have to call your ins co. for insurance.

    Or you can do what I did when I purchased my truck in Vista, CA. I just slapped a plate on it and drove it back to Phx.
     
    Sunny90 Thanks this.
  6. dosgatos

    dosgatos Medium Load Member

    404
    874
    Sep 18, 2012
    0
    One trip permit from CA DMV for travel into CA from outside the state. Bobtail ins maybe $225 for first payment $35/mo thereafter. One day pass within CA are free (not for under load). Pick up two at a time from dmv. Keep in truck and use within 90 days.
     
    Sunny90 and Bakerman Thank this.
  7. jsnell

    jsnell Light Load Member

    225
    316
    Apr 12, 2016
    0
    Call OOIDA
     
    Sunny90 Thanks this.
  8. Sunny90

    Sunny90 Bobtail Member

    13
    4
    Dec 13, 2019
    0
    Slapped a plate ? I’m going to buy it from Private sale. they dont have any plate on it.
     
    Bakerman Thanks this.
  9. Sunny90

    Sunny90 Bobtail Member

    13
    4
    Dec 13, 2019
    0
    one day pass looks good option.
     
  10. Bakerman

    Bakerman Road Train Member

    4,580
    8,473
    Jan 27, 2013
    Phoenix, AZ
    0
    I used a plate from one of my other trucks, I think it was even expired!
     
    D.Tibbitt Thanks this.
  11. johnnyman1099

    johnnyman1099 Medium Load Member

    362
    413
    Mar 13, 2017
    0
    Here is your problems with registering a newly purchased truck. You need CHP to verify the Vin# and sign a form. My DMV in Stockton, CA would not do the vin verification on out of state commercial trucks. DMV said that any CHP officers can sign but it is not the case. Only specially trained CHP officers can do vin verification. The scale house will not do vin verification. You cannot go to any CHP office, only to your local CHP station in your jurisdiction. You need to call your local CHP station to schedule a Vin verification. In Stockton, CA, a city of 350k people, Earliest appoints are 5 to 8 weeks out because they are booked and only do vin verification 2 mornings a week.

    Once you get vin verification, you can then pay DMV sales tax 9% on purchase price. All IRP plates must be done online and must send payment in Cashier's check. No credit card, no personal and business checks.

    A lot of wasted time. California is a crazy stupid state that is very inefficient. I moved out of state to California last year and just moved back out this week because of the AB5 law.

    According to new law, even if you have your own DOT authority, if you drive the truck and work with a few primary brokers, truck companies, you are still an employee.
     
    Sunny90 and D.Tibbitt Thank this.
  • Truckers Report Jobs

    Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

    Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

  • Draft saved Draft deleted