Can I make it as a Canadian Owner Op?

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by DaWingd Wheel, Jun 20, 2017.

1. DaWingd Wheel

DaWingd Wheel Bobtail Member

Jun 20, 2017
    Thanks for all your posts!
    Without you guys I am lost!

I have been a company driver for 10yrs now

Me and my wife first met the got my licence
    And we have 2 kids under 5yr
    Bought a condo in 2015 it's ok to start out with..
    I am pretty good with save money and investments. The last 2 times I have had a down payment for a truck my wife took it for a family vacation and the other was a down payment for this here condo all within 2yrs or so. Good vacation. And good down payment for this condo.. cheap and easy to live here affordable..
    I live in Alberta just south of Calgary. Been with this job as a company driver now 2yrs. Dedicated scheduled..it's.. ok don't like the traffic and times when leaving..
    I like driving long haul better...
    USA and Canada have good and bad points for both country.. for drive long haul.. that another story.

Need advice:

Now my wife promised me in return for the family vacation and buy this here condo that she would be buy my side as a owner op.. now she changed her mind.. when I come home on my days off.. not happy to see me.. not want me around.. maybe she is tired or stressed out from the kids or what? But seriously I am happier on the road than being home.

So can I make it as a owner op with only me as the boss with no wife back up?

Now was thinking this for idea.. also need advice
    I have had lots of breakdown over the years and I know what's what..been a company driver for 10yrs now.. i want to be in total control of the truck and maintenance.. I feel like I can do a better job at maintaining the truck than the company could ever!!

I think I am ready to be a owner op