Can I still become o/o? Preferably landstar? Help me out

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by Bono84, Jun 19, 2018.

1. Bono84

Bono84 Bobtail Member

Jun 19, 2018
    Good afternoon drivers!

So I've been preparing myself to become an owner and operator past few yrs and I'm finally ready from the financial stand point, and the god must hate me for whatever reason, last week I got pulled in for level 2 inspection and got 80 csa points with major one being a flat tire on my trailer. (Wont make excuse) so that's basically everything I have on my current driving record, like I had no major accidents or any moving violations other than the ones I got last week. Now my question is, would companies like landstar still hire me under this circumstance? I have more than 3 yrs of experience including the winters, and as I said no major accidents no conviction etc. If you guys dont think landstar would hire me under this circumstance, what should my options be as far as becoming an owner and operator? And pleeeaaase dont say wait another few yrs until my CSA drops.. I really dont think I can wait another yrs as a company driver... any experienced o/o opinions are appreciated. Thanks drivers

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Ridgeline

Ridgeline Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    Well don't take this wrong but when you are asking if landstar will hire you, it tells me you have been not paying attention to the industry and how it works, so no they won't ever hire you unless you apply for an office job in Jacksonville or rockford.

Now the reason for this is you don't understand how it works, landstar doesn't hire any owner, they will allow an owner to lease onto them.

That said you have the money for six months for bills for the slow times or when the truck is broke down?

How about $1200 or so to look at a truck?