Can you be an independent o/o doing intermodal work?

Discussion in 'Intermodal Trucking Forum' started by rahtek, Jan 17, 2016.

1. rahtek

rahtek Light Load Member

Dec 25, 2013
    Id like to preface my question with letting you guys know my experience in intermodal is limited.

It seems the only way to get freight in the local Chicago intermodal market is through a carrier. In dry van , my understanding is, you have the spot market( load boards), direct shippers, and being lease to a carrier. How do you find work as an independent o/o doing local container work? Is there a specific load board and brokers for this type of freight? Being lease onto a carrier isn't really an option for me. I'm currently a company driver for a small company doing regional intermodal work. I'm trying to convince my boss to get into doing intermodal work which is why I'm coming to you guys for information.

I'm not really looking for information on all the small beurocratic stuff like scat codes and the like. I'm looking to find out if it's possible to find intermodal freight without having direct customers.

Thanks in advance

Last edited: Jan 17, 2016
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Ruckie

Ruckie Road Train Member

Nov 12, 2011
    Bloom field,nj
    How do you find work as an independent o/o doing local container work? must register with the hub, Schneider, clipper, hub, usa trucks, prime, csx and jb hunt and some other ones but the main ones are those you are register with them they will give you access to their load boards.
    Is there a specific load board and brokers for this type of freight? no, every company has their own board or point of contact and the emhu boxes you can go to a regular board and pick a freight as long as the shipper agrees to get their load shipped by rail you can request the empty box not sure how much they charge for those boxes.