Columbia has no power with key in ON position

Discussion in 'Heavy Duty Diesel Truck Mechanics Forum' started by gekko1323, Mar 1, 2024.

1. gekko1323

gekko1323 Road Train Member

Jul 14, 2018
    Henderson, NV
    Good evening folks. So, I've been going out to the truck every few days to get things ready before I hit the road. Today, when I went to crank her up, the electronics/dash controls didn't react. No beep, no cycling system check...nada. I checked the voltage on the batteries and they were at 12.4V. So it isn't the batteries. I have been cranking her up and idling her for about 30 minutes every time I go out there to keep the batteries charged. So today was a surprise.

So what can it be? I'm no mechanical genius like the rest of you here, but if it was the starter or ignition switch, wouldn't the dash electronics function with the switch in the "on" position anyway? Any insight will be appreciated as always.

Flat Earth Trucker Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Diesel Dave

Diesel Dave Last Few of the OUTLAWS

Jan 20, 2010
    Hesperia, Ca.
    Throw a charge on the batteries or a jump and see what it does.

4. BoxCarKidd

BoxCarKidd Road Train Member

Aug 26, 2014
    Voltage reading at battery connections on starter? Then three terminals on right side on fuse box?

gekko1323 and Rideandrepair Thank this.
  5. gekko1323

Jul 14, 2018
    Henderson, NV
    Thanks Dave. But the batteries are good. The voltage reading was 12.4. Also, all the electricals inside work.

Diesel Dave and Rideandrepair Thank this.
  6. gekko1323

Jul 14, 2018
    Henderson, NV
    Okay, I'll get on that tomorrow. Thanks. But wouldn't the power go to the starter switch first? What is the normal circuit order from the battery? Are there any fuses or relays I should look at also?

7. Rideandrepair

Rideandrepair Road Train Member

Aug 8, 2015