Company Driver Becoming Owner Operator

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by sassytrucker88, Jan 14, 2020.

1. sassytrucker88

sassytrucker88 Bobtail Member

Jan 14, 2020
    Hey y'all, I've been a company driver for 1yr now and looking to becoming an owner operator. Being new to the oo side, should I start with getting loads from the load board or buy a truck then lease it under a company? If leasing under a company, what are good companies to lease under with the hopes of growing a fleet there? Also, I've heard freightliners are good quality trucks with lower overhead cost. So what's an effective way to finding a good used freightliner under 35k?

Thanks in advance!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. 201

201 Road Train Member

Apr 16, 2014
    high plains colorado
    Ok, your enthusiasm is commendable, but hold on. Don't worry about the truck, what's wrong with the company you're at now? You have high hopes at probably the worst time in history to own your own truck, much less a fleet of them. Unless you have hauling contracts for 20 years, better forget about your own truck. Insurance and taxes will absolutely kill you. Freightliner? Add truck repair costs at $100/hr. to the list. My best advice, is don't do it.

4. sassytrucker88

Jan 14, 2020
    Throughout the 1yr of being a company driver, I've experienced a bunch of bs from companies. I figured since I'm business savvy with some cash set aside why not get my own truck. Growing my fleet will come later on, it's not something I'm looking to do right away.

5. sassytrucker88

Jan 14, 2020
    Why do you think this is the worst time to get my own truck?

6. Doealex

Doealex Medium Load Member

Feb 21, 2018