Company drivers, would you haul hazmat for just your normal mileage pay?

Discussion in 'Hazmat Trucking Forum' started by Matt43324, Dec 24, 2018.

1. Matt43324

Matt43324 Light Load Member

Jun 1, 2014
    As the title says.... company I work for, needs hazmat drivers, for backhaups to support our dedicated account. I have my hazmat endorsement how ever i never told FM i got it, nor do I plan on it. You guys receiving extra pay for hazmat? If so, extra per mile? Flat rate amount of x amount of dollars per load? Just curious on what the "industry standard" is

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Antinomian

Antinomian Road Train Member

Feb 17, 2013
    You work for a trucking company but they don't have a copy of your current license?

kylefitzy, Blackshack46 and LoSt_AgAiN Thank this.
  4. JonJon78

JonJon78 Road Train Member

Jul 1, 2018
    When I was a company driver it was a extra 5cpm when I hauled hazardous materials.

5. Antinomian

Antinomian Road Train Member

Feb 17, 2013
    There is no industry standard for hazmat pay. You need to research that during the hiring process and make it part of your decision process.

When I was with Swift they only paid a trivial bonus for a hazmat load. A few dollars. But since their pool of hazmat drivers was small I often got good long mileage loads that might otherwise have gone to a team or trainer/trainee.

6. Matt43324

Jun 1, 2014
    Got it about a month after I was hired

7. Matt43324

Jun 1, 2014
    I also run for a mega, with a very small pool. I knew from the get go they don't pay extra, hence why I never told them, nor will I run hazmat for free. I was just curious about others

Northeasterner and Woodys Thank this.
  8. SteerTire

SteerTire Road Train Member

Nov 5, 2018
    Behind the wheel