Complete NOOB questions... serious answers only please

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by meccariello, Dec 19, 2008.

1. meccariello

meccariello Bobtail Member

Dec 19, 2008
    florida
    So. I have been in the bar business for some time and am seriously considering buying a truck and taking up trucking as an owner operator. (the bar makes enough money and is #### near on auto pilot)

I have the money to buy a truck. I have zero knowledge of the industry. (no guts no glory... how do you think i got into the bar business *grin*)

so anyway. this is my question(s).

1. as an owner operator, do you simply get hooked up with some kind of network and go around looking for loads to pick up and deliver? and if so, are there networks i can browse so i can see how owner/operators "find loads"

2. whats the pay per load?

3. do i really need a trailer or can i simply hook up to loads and take them where they are supposed to go?

i will be monitoring this thread for serious answers. (yea i know its kind of risky to just "buy a truck and go for it"... frankly, you dont go into the bar business with too much caution either. its all a gamble.
    i have no desire to work for another.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Lilbit

Lilbit Road Train Member

Aug 4, 2008
    Let me check my logbook
    The first thing you need to do is go to a school and get your CDL, and then spend at least a year driving for a company. This is not an industry you can learn on the fly or make it up as you go. You probably won't even be able to get insurance as a driver/owner with no experience at all.