Considering a trucking career

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by TXDriver79, Jan 5, 2019.

1. TXDriver79

TXDriver79 Bobtail Member

Jan 4, 2019
    Hello and thank you all in advance for any/all help.

Long story short, I'm 39 and ready for a total career change and think trucking could be the answer. The pertinents are:

* I'm 39.5 and in good health and would have no problem passing a DOT including drug test(s).

*No pets or kids BUT I'm (happily) married and the wife will NOT let me to be gone for week (or weeks) at a time. Her father was an OTR trucker and she's *firm* that I be home nightly or near it.

* I live about 25 miles south of Dallas, TX.

* I currently drive 45k-50k miles per year soley in the DFW metroplex for my job (regular Ford F-150 style truck) and I have been doing so for the past 12 years. The only accident I've ever been in was when a guy rear-ended me at a rural red light because he was on his cell phone. He paid for the repair and in fact the police refused to even make a report. I got 1 speeding ticket 3-4 years ago but got it dropped/whatever because I did a defensive driving course so basically I have a perfectly clean driving record.

* I love to drive. I LOVE IT. I've always wanted to drive a truck preferably big $$$ specialty loads/hazmat/the crazier the better but the wife has always been a firm "no"... I think at this point I'm going to be stuck to "local only" opportunities so that dream is probably unreachable but only because of her.

* Pension - that's what I'm chasing now. I've seen a few job listings that show their jobs come with one but ideally the job I will take (trucking or otherwise) will come with a pension. I can not stress how important this is - I realllllly want to obtain a pension if in any way possible.

* I'm not interested in buying my own truck. No where to put it, don't know much about mechanics/how to repair engines, ect, etc.