driving laws

Discussion in 'Trucker Legal Advice' started by fudge33, Feb 6, 2008.

1. fudge33

fudge33 Bobtail Member

Feb 6, 2008
    detroit michigan
    Hello I drive from detroit mi to chicago il every day through the snow belt, i.e kalamazoo and benton harbor anyway last week I turned around and started heading back home cause the roads were ice and it was snowing "bad" I always head there with an empty and back loaded so I felt road conditions were bad and turned around now the company I work for is telling me to drive slow and if I do it again im fired is there any law or something that says I have the right to turn around due to road conditions and where can I find it so I can cram it down there throats also forgot to mention im a local driver and do not get reimbursed for hotels if I have to get one thanks

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ssbowles

ssbowles Heavy Load Member

Sep 27, 2007
    High Desert,CA
    No laws like that that I'm aware of, but you were right to do what you did. If the roads were too bad for you to feel safe enough to continue, then I don't blame you for turning around. Maybe you should have called dispatch first and let them know what was going on, but other than that...

4. fudge33

fudge33 Bobtail Member

Feb 6, 2008
    detroit michigan
    I did there the ones that told me to drive slow also every day im flirting with the 11 hr rule and you think theyll pay the fine hell no as long as the mail keeps moving

5. 1happywoman

1happywoman Bobtail Member

Nov 4, 2007
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    §392.14 Hazardous conditions; extreme caution.