ELD breaks and time management

Discussion in 'ELD Forum | Questions, Answers and Reviews' started by Drummerdan1984, Jul 8, 2019.

1. Drummerdan1984

Drummerdan1984 Bobtail Member

Jun 17, 2019
    Hello,

I'm new to long haul and still learning how to use the ELD, but my biggest concern since driving is using up my time to get to my destination, and then not having time left to make my delivery. I know I can use personal conveyance but it all seems a little confusing for me.

For instance. I got to my destination, and was able to go into sleeper berth for 8 hours, but I got a door and used a yard move on the ELD, to make nut delivery. does that interruption in my 10 hour reset mean I have to start over with an additional ten hours or can I user PC make my delivery then go back in sleeper for 2 more hours?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ZVar

ZVar Road Train Member

Sep 10, 2010
    Flint, MI
    This is one of the reasons why ELD's were implemented. People working on their Off Duty time because "It's only putting it in the door."

Sorry, but "delivering" is On Duty. If your company can't figure out schedules with the customer that doesn't waste your time by having to restart a break for example, you need a new company that will.

roshea Thanks this.
  4. Drummerdan1984

Drummerdan1984 Bobtail Member

Jun 17, 2019
    It isn't the company, because I am the company, lol. I don't want to break any laws, and I'm just confused about what happens if for any reason I have to interrupt my 10 hour reset( lawfully or otherwise) do I need to start an additional 10 hours?

5. Brandt

Brandt Road Train Member

Sep 17, 2012