Enrolled in CDL school w/ fellow Marine vet, looking for good paying OTR company for teaming.

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Tiredusmc, Mar 2, 2018.

1. Tiredusmc

Tiredusmc Bobtail Member

Mar 26, 2016
    I've been pondering going OTR for the past two years and have finally made the leap!

I am starting a 4 week CDL class A program and should be fully licensed if everything goes according to plan by the beginning of April. I am doing this CDL program with a vet I served with in the USMC. We have the intention of teaming with each other since we're hearing teaming gets paid more, better loads, more miles, etc.

Being an established team should open up more doors or so I'm hoping. We are both going to get our passport, TWIC and every endorsement possible.

We currently reside in Eastern NC and would be taking home time every 6 to 7 weeks for a few days (3-4 days) in Eastern NC. Although we may be switching out licenses to Texas for tax proposes since neither of us will maintain a home after we go OTR, only a RV mailbox to get mail. So a company that wouldn't nitpick about that would be nice.

I'm not sure what the best division to go into for teams are, which one gets the most miles? reefer, van, tanker, flatbed, heavy hauler, it doesn't matter to us.

Do any of you think that some companies that require experience may make some exceptions for a newbie team?

Risking my life in another drivers hands and vis versa ought to come with increased pay, so truckers, what would be the best company to go with for me and my buddies situation?

Thanks for the help.

Edit:
    I'm 24
    Teammate is 23

Last edited: Mar 2, 2018
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. EphTrucker

EphTrucker Light Load Member

Dec 12, 2017
    I am new to CDL too. But in So Cal. If I lived in North Carolina, I would definitely look at G&P Trucking out of Charlotte.