Establishing Credit as a new brokerage?

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by GusBussss, Sep 12, 2018.

1. GusBussss

GusBussss Bobtail Member

Sep 12, 2018
    Hey Guys,

I am new in the Transportation Brokerage scene and am needing a little bit of help.

I work for a company that has been established for 10 years but our brokerage transportation is new and I am developing it. We would like to eliminate the factoring company and pay our carriers within hours directly with no fees.

We have the funds to operate like this, the issue we are facing is that drivers look up our MC through factoring companies and we show up with no payment history or credit. Is there a way to establish credit and payment history without using the factoring company?

Thanks in advance for all your help!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Midwest Trucker

Midwest Trucker Road Train Member

Aug 31, 2018
    Sign up with DAT and ask them about this. They will ask you some questions and ultimately if everything checks out they will give you a 100 credit score and days to pay that you claim.

They understand it’s detrimental to your business to have no rating. With time the factoring companies who can be a real PITA will start reporting. They will send the paperwork a week or more after delivery but expect to be in que for payment based on the delivery date. It’s ridiculous really. So at that point you’ll be paying out at 15 to 21 days to get a 30 day report even though you can’t bill the customer until you get the paperwork. It’s a real you know what. You’ll end up appreciating the carriers who don’t factor, but find that 50%+ at the least do.

Definitely be prepared to get some skeptical carriers though. At that point send wires and ease their worries. Just make sure and have the shipper go out and check the door and mc that it’s not double brokered.