Exceptions to the 1 year OTR experience

Discussion in 'Crete' started by rfk1, Feb 24, 2008.

1. rfk1

rfk1 Bobtail Member

Feb 24, 2008
    San Leandro, California
    I spoke to a Crete recruiter on the phone the other day to ask about the exception to there 1 year OTR experience requirement. I was told if I go to one of the schools they have approved they would hire me. #1 does this ring true? #2 Southwest Truck Driver Training in Las Vegas was my choice since my brother lives in Henderson. Does anyone have an opinion about this school? This is my first attempt to navigate this site, so I will apologize now.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. truckin916

truckin916 Medium Load Member

Sep 7, 2007
    Wild Wild West
    I was told the same thing when I was going through school. Unfortunately I was not going to a school that they approved. It has to have a specific accredidation, not sure which one but they can tell you if you ask. They may even have a list of approved schools that you can choose from, not sure.

4. jerryl

jerryl Light Load Member

Jun 27, 2007
    All the recruiters at these comapnies want to do is suck you in. They will promise you the world, but they have nothing to say about it. The recruiters told me I would have to do 4 weeks refresher with a trainer and then I would be on my own. Director of Recruiting said, "No, I want you to drive for someone else for a full year before I will hire you." Seems odd, they don't like high turnover rates at their comapny but they want a person to go somewhere else for awhile then come to them. To me, that is not right. It is called hypocrisy. We want you to come stay with us for years but it is okay for you to go drive for someone else for a year so we will then accept you.

5. zepurple

zepurple Bobtail Member

Feb 27, 2008
    Phoenix,arizona